Arizona

18-19 January 2018

1941 BMW 327 Cabriolet

  • Chassis no. 87281
  • Engine no. 87281

Without Reserve


  • One of the last 327s built before World War II
  • Beautiful sought-after pre-war design
  • Recently serviced in preparation for sale


Originally launched by BMW in 1937, the famous 327’s first iteration was the sleek and sensual cabriolet. Based on the chassis of the previous 326, this new model represented a great shift in the design language of the Bavarian firm. Instead of the boxy, upright sedans of the previous decade, the cabriolet was now all lightness and flow, resplendent of the luxurious designs of the 1930s.

Though the body was supplied by coachbuilder Autenrieth in Darmstadt, the entirety of the 327 was put together at the Eisenach factory. The ashwood frame was combined with the straight-six engine previously seen on the 326 – though this new model produced an additional 5 hp and reached top speeds of 125 km/h. Body panels were shaped and placed by hand, creating an elegant shape that appeared to move even while the car was standing still.

Offered here is one of the last 327s built before the Eisenach factory was occupied for the War, making this one of the true “blue-badged” BMW 327s. Purchased by the current owner in 1991, the BMW was subsequently restored by the Paterek brothers in New Jersey. The brothers painted the car to the correct dual-tone blue, restored the interior and top, and oversaw the assembly work. The engine was overhauled by a Swiss specialist, Brodowski, around the same time; receipts and documentation on file indicate that the original block and cylinder head were replaced as part of this work. Furthermore, the car is also accompanied by a tool kit.

Beautifully reminiscent of the elegant pre-war years, the BMW 327 would go on to influence the design of decades of post-war automobiles, including the famous ‘Baroque Angel.’ As the model is rarely found in the U.S., a chance to own as elegant a car as this should not be taken lightly.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more